I’m nearly drug-free … and feeling better

As you progress through the events of several decades, stuff happens.

You suffer an injury.

You get sick.

You might be depressed or in pain.

Sometimes … you fit a certain profile and now you need to take this …

Every one of those events can lead to drug usage.

Your doctor prescribes a pain killer for post-surgical recovery.How Many Pills

Another says you’ve got to take a pill for your blood pressure.

Your knees tell you that running is tough on them … so you take Vitamin I … Ibuprofen.

The stress of work-life has you off balance.

Maybe you adjust your vitamin regimen or take a Prozac.

Antacids or a daily purple pill helps reduce your reflux.

Are you a druggie?

In recent weeks … I’ve become … nearly … drug-free … and I’m feeling better.

I want you to consider what a similar change might do for you.  I’m no doctor, but I’ve learned most doctors don’t pay much attention to the individual.  You need to look out for yourself.

Do you remember the slogan … Better Living Through Chemistry?

That is a variation on an advertising slogan for Dupont

… the company that brought us many types of plastic and a wide range of industrial chemicals.

Pharmaceutical companies and the healthcare industry seem to fully embrace the idea now.

I have stopped taking all prescription medications except a low-dose pill for blood pressure … and if I can do so without causing my doctor to experience heart failure, I’ll stop taking that too.

I quit taking pain medication.
Now I have fewer aches & pains.

Aches & pains associated with over-enthusiastic exercise, demanding weekend home projects, work injuries, childhood injuries, a fall from the roof of a 2-story house, knee surgery, fatigue, and stress have led to a variety of attempts to alleviate the pain.  I had reached a point where I was taking a daily meloxicam tablet rather than a handful of ibuprofen.  When I started taking meloxicam it seemed to do wonders.

If you are taking NSAIDs … or considering it … do some research, visit WebMD and other online resources … read … and understand … NSAIDs can have some serious side effects … and they don’t mix well with many other medications.  They can be seriously dangerous when taken along with steroids … and it seems not all doctors know this.

I quit taking purple pills.
Now I have less indigestion and no nausea or acid reflux.

At some point in recent years, I experienced an extended period of indigestion, reflux, and nausea.  The purple pill was prescribed, and when generic Prilosec (omeprazole) became available, I continued with the OTC versions.  When that initial bout abated, I cut back from daily use to “as needed” but it seemed I still needed it quite a bit.

When I decided to cut down on meds, I began taking a probiotic (Align).
Wow … what an improvement!

I quit the testosterone replacement therapy.
Now I have more energy, better attitude, and less concern about chest pains.

Low-T is the latest big hype among pharmaceutical companies.  My doctor decided my T was too low and I should try one of the new gels.  I tried three but with no noticeable positive impact.  So, my doctor had me begin Testosterone injections.  The first three injections resulted in noticeable changes and some questionable (even serious) side effects, but my doctor wasn’t convinced there was a connection.

When I went for the fourth injection, the nurse showed me a contaminant in the bottle from which the first three shots had been taken.  So, I got a new vial from the pharmacy.  The next injection seemed to have no affect; a few weeks later, the second injection seemed to do nothing, as well.  By then, I had been experiencing for several weeks new chest pains that didn’t feel like muscle aches.  It was at that point I decided to cut out as many prescription and over-the-counter medications as I could.

Another great benefit has been weight loss … nearly 30 pounds!

When I started the T-Replacement Therapy, I soon lost six or seven pounds.
That was encouraging.

In just a few weeks following my decision to stop taking the NSAIDs and omeprazole, my weight loss now totals nearly 30 pounds … without a diet (though I am eating smarter and allowing myself fewer sweets) and only a modest increase in recreational physical activity.

Now I look forward to what will happen when I re-instate a regular fitness routine.

Of course, I should add the standard disclaimer … “Your results may vary.”

But … it could be worth a try … for many reasons!

The benefits of becoming (almost) Drug Free include:

  • Fewer Aches & Pains
  • More Energy
  • No Gastric Distress
  • No Nausea
  • Improved Appetite
  • Weight Loss

 

 

 

