For 50 Years
this has been a frequently asked question
in late November.

JFK Assassinated

Do you remember the announcement?

                        Where were you?

                                        What were you doing?

I was eight grade history class.

We were taking turns reciting the Presidential Oath of Office.

My friend had just flubbed it. He had just said,

“I will faithfully execute the president of the United States.”

I remember there was an uncomfortable moment throughout the classroom as kids tried to decide if they should laugh or keep quiet.

Before much could be said, out principal began an announcement over the loudspeaker system.

That’s when we learned that President Kennedy had been shot.

The room remained silent for some time.

John F Kennedy

Our country was changed … forever.

######

My thanks to the Washington Observer and National Memo for the photos.

######

