Happy Birthday Again

Yup, it is my birthday again.  At least it was when I started this article. Since the “story” is about my day, I’ll post it the day after my birthday.

Thanks to all who take a moment to think or send a thought my way today.

I’ve already received thoughts that make me smile from many parts of the world and my life. Thank you.

Birthday Signs

While Walking the Dogs this morning, I considered several potential themes for this Happy Birthday Again blog posting.  It was a friendly greeting from a neighbor that had previously seemed kinda grumpy followed by DaBoyz acting like puppies that caused “Birthday Signs” to rise to the top of the theme list.

What follows are thoughts and images that seem special today.

A special breakfast seemed in order. Waffles are a favorite of mine.

We had made a large batch of waffles this weekend and I saved several to have as breakfast options this week. One of them was special. I won’t go so far as to get excited like the “face of Jesus” types, but I remember thinking as I closed the waffle maker … “that looks like a star.”

So … since our business is named Sirius after the dog star, this seemed to have (minor) significance today.

Having waffles for breakfast got me thinking about Mom.

Actually, we have been thinking about her a lot lately.

My mother will be 90 in February. She’s been feeling her age more lately. She rallied for Thanksgiving Day, but she was too tired on Friday to attend another family gathering.

Patricia JacobsonShe can look pretty sharp and act much younger than her years, but when her blood Mom's Life in the Valley article November 2011chemistry gets out of synch she really feels it. Today my sisters took her to the ER where they are pumping fluids into her system, so we hope she will be feeling spritely, soon.

Wondering about her condition also reminded me that I should check out her latest published article.

To read her latest article click the image of the article or go to the Iowa Living website.

Cats have recently become a special interest in our home.

Years ago, I lived with cats.  Then I spent a decade or more without them in my life.  When I linked up with Lin, she said “we are a package deal” since she will always have dogs in her life. Since she has always had an allergy to cats, I am the designated cat petter.

For the last few years we have watched a feral cat survive seasonal extremes and the hazards of “being on your own” living in a big city.  She is currently living with the one surviving kitten from last year’s litter and it appears she is preparing to be a mother again.

Winter is likely to be as harsh as the previous long, cold, snowy winter and the poor kitten is likely to be pushed away when the new kittens arrive. So, after watching them appear to be eating seed that had fallen from our bird feeders, we have provided them a few meals.

We are fully aware that we may be creating our own monsters but can’t let the kitten starve or fail to assist the little momma.

DaBoyz are quite ready to great these girls, but the cats are naturally very wary … although we have seen the kitten hide herself on the patio step and consider jumping on the Cooleroo with Patryn. That could be an interesting experience for all.

The cats don’t yet know that our dogs think cats should be their friends. DaBoyz have already befriended some felines. Now, they think all cats should be ready to be their buddies. Instinct tends to get in the way.

Hang In There

This sculpture is something Lin & I found in a special shop in Kansas City when we were dating.  The artist had created several versions of these creatures.  Essentially … they are turds. You know … Shit Happens.

This guy suggests we should hang on tight when things are going badly. I wonder if the artist had any notion in the early 80’s that things could become so bad in the future. This little shit is trying to Hang In There.

This figure, Rock & A Hard Spot, hangs over the entrance to our home office. I believe it entered our lives at another time a few years back when things had gotten tough.

We appreciate it as a good piece of artwork, and as an excellent representation of a very common human condition.

A Prayer for Beer

The first birthday card I received today was from Lin & DaBoyz. Lin says the dogs strongly encouraged her purchase the card, because they thought it would be so appropriate.

If you appreciate a good lager, ale, porter, or stout, you will appreciate this Ode to Lager.

Birthday_card_Our_Lager_prayer_Beer_Brew

Two Brews

During the Thanksgiving holiday I had the good fortune to spend a few days with a friend who has been helping his neighbor with some home brewing projects.

We sampled several during the visit. As we were departing for Chicago he added a few to the thing we needed to pack. In the beer bottle picture you can see a dark “Simco” and a “Liberty” lager. that became part of my birthday celebration.

Both … very tasty. Thanks, Wally. Tell Mike to Keep up the good work.

Birthday Dinner

We ended the day sharing dinner with friends at a great restaurant called Coopers Hawk. Birthday Dessert at Coopers Hawk

Good people, great food, excellent wine & beer. At the end of the meal, Coopers Hawk presented us with a very nice dessert surprise, which included a chocolate treat and a juicy strawberry dipped in white chocolate with raspberries, whipped cream and strawberry sauce on the side.

So … those were some of my Birthday Signs and significant events.

